South Africa – We need to discuss this journey from hell.

I went to South Africa a few years back, Im mainly writing about it because I know it was a once in a lifetime opportunity and I will never forget it. one day maybe I’ll be lucky enough to go back hopefully and do everything we didn’t get to do!

Now the plane journey was enough. It needed its own blog post. Because the journey was an incredibly unfortunate one. The time to South Africa, landing in Cape Town, should’ve taken us 11 and a half hours. It was a night flight and sleeping was the plan even though I can’t sleep on any mode of public transport. But surprisingly enough I managed it this time for the first time ever. Theres a lot of us on this trip so we’re all excited getting on the plane ready to sit on our arses for a few hours for the holiday of a lifetime!

The Plane takes off absolutely no problem at all, it wasn’t till we were about 5 hours in that we noticed something wasn’t quite right. Now the last thing I remember seeing is the crew and a first aid kit heading very fast towards the back of the plane. All the crew were occupied with something else, followed by an announcement for a doctor on board. I fell asleep after that.

81
Myself and my sister on the plane!
Now I didn’t wake back up until we were in Barcelona. Yup, Barcelona! Not South Africa. As it had turned out, unfortunately for one of the cabin crew their appendix had burst and we had to turn around to Barcelona to get the crew member off the plane and to safety. Luckily in the end they were all a-okay which was a relief!

When I woke up I was so disorientated about the fact we were in Barcelona and I was so tired, I cried! Tragic I know, but I was tired alright! So the end result in this first aid was that after landing Barcelona they wouldn’t let us get of the plane, so we were sat on the runway for the next 4 hours until we had to go back to the airport, in the UK. We landed at 6am and were not allowed to board the plane again until 11am. The man was alright and that was the main thing! This late boarding of the plane was mainly because of a cabin crew change due to their hours they’re allowed to fly. Which is understandable as if I was cabin crew after that I’d have just had enough. Shout out to all the cabin crews out there, you’re smashing it.

To compensate for the fact we were back in the UK we got a complimentary Starbucks because who doesn’t enjoy being a stereotypical white girl for free eh? I just remember plugging my phone into the wall, sitting on the floor and then pleasantly staying there till we were called to board the plane again!

I didn’t mind staying in the airport at all, I love the airport more than anything! Its one of my favourite places to be because of the hustle and bustle and the constant buzz, people coming and going, hello’s and goodbye’s and all these different stories of different people. Its just an exciting place!

9
In the airport hotel in SA!
After getting back on the plane the journey was plain sailing, we even got a night in Hilton at the airport at the other end due to the time we landed because we were driving to the Kruger National Park, and that would take us 5 hours. So we all set up in the hotel for the night which was much more pleasant, could do the journey refreshed that way too!

I was more excited about the fact I was in Africa, and there was so much to see & do!

Whats to come: Cape town / Safari / Robin Island / Table mountain & more!

Leave a Reply

