My First Hospitality Job

I’ve been incredibly quiet on here the past couple of weeks and I am apologetic but do not regret it. This is because Ive started my first job in the hospitality sector. For me this is a pretty big deal, It is part of my university degree where I shall be working for a year in my chosen industry (hospitality). So, I’ve joined The Hilton Team!

Hilton is one of the largest and possibly most well known hotel business worldwide. So for me this opportunity to work in one of their hotels for a year was an obvious yes. Not only will it give me the experience I need in the future but it gives me a year to see what its like, because this is the real world not university. So a lot has changed.

I’ll be on placement from July 2017 until July 2018 so unfortunately no holidays/travelling to write about for you guys other than my South Africa trip from a while back which I’ll tell you guys all about when I have the time to write my blog! I mean I’m taking a holiday in September, but I’m only heading back to university for a week to see my friends, & I’m not going to write about that because all I’d be able to write is “I am too hungover and recovering from this week for this”.

img_7872.jpg

Getting up at half 7 is normal, maybe even half 6 now, which is really nice. Makes a change for me! I’m actually going to bed at 11pm and sleeping through till half 7, Getting up for work isn’t even that hard! The only thing I could say that could possibly fault it is the drive to work. I live 20 miles away from work. Now for those who are well aware of the hospitality industry you’ll know that normal hours 9-5 are a thing of the past, which is something that I really don’t mind as I love having different shifts as no shift is ever the same! If I can time it right I can get to work in half hour especially if my shifts are good. If my shifts are in peak times, we’re talking a whole hour and 10 minutes just to get 20 miles away. Ripping my hair out on the regs.

I’ve been working coming on three weeks now nearly and I am throughly enjoying myself. Even though the training is frustrating and it is a long process its something thats got to be done, I just can’t wait to finish the training so I can get out onto the desk and finally do something!

After starting the job I thought a lot would be different but I was wrong. I was convinced as I was so young I wouldn’t be lucky enough to make friends, now I realise it was hands dow the stupidest thing I had ever thought/said in my whole life. I’ve already met some wonderful people, Yeah I may be a baby but I’m not the only young one either. Everyone made me feel more than welcome, so I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t enjoying it. I was also so worried that I was going to be thrown straight into the deep end and that I might crumble and struggle big time. But its actually been the opposite, I’ve never been so throughly briefed about the way things are down in my life, It made me super confident which was really really nice.

One phrase used regularly by my family whenever I moan about work is “Welcome to the real world” because lord they aren’t lying. But I would much rather Live to work than work to live, and thats the aim especially if I can find a good career in Hospitality after this year and university (and travelling of course).

Its incredibly interesting seeing how the hotel business actually works, and It’s actually really impressive. There’s so many people all in one team. But at the same time all in different teams in departments and it’s all so well organised and yeah sometimes I’m sure as hell it gets hard to deal with everything for a lot of people and departments. So next time you visit a hotel, any hotel not just a Hilton Hotel, Be considerate because everyone goes that extra mile to make sure you enjoy your time whilst you’re staying.

Im very excited to see what the future holds! Here’s to the next year!

IMG_7914
Here’s a picture of Primrose Hill, London, With the London Skyline Just because!
Leave a Reply

