Vienna – Sight-Seeing Galore!

There’s plenty of things to do and see when traveling about in Vienna! At least thats how I felt, we walked for ages some days but through the painful feet we always saw some beautiful things.

One of the most gorgeous places we went when we were in Vienna was the Schoenbrunn Castle, the gardens and the Gloriette.

The inside of the palace walls blew me away because the palace was so huge and impressive, it was a light beige colour and very authentic, it was like nothing Id ever seen before, purely for its size! If you head round the side of the castle you can walk through the rose cage and into the castle gardens which are just as impressive in size as the castle.

To walk up the to the Gloriette and to get an incredible view of Vienna you had to walk through their gardens directly behind the castle first. Theres a large fountain before the steep hill up towards the Gloriette, the architect didn’t hold back when building this place because everything about it is impressive in terms of size, the fountain is also, you guessed it, huge.

The gardens went on for miles, I believe somewhere within all the gardens theres a zoo?! There was also what appeared to be a botanical garden in a large greenhouse like building, it was really unique form the outside. I totally wish I’d gone inside when I had the chance, it was very photogenic, the whole of the gardens and palace are.

The trek up the hill to see the Gloriette was totally worth it. Not only was the Gloriette gorgeous but so was the view. I’d wanted to walk up the hill from the moment I saw it so I could see the view and it certainly didn’t disappoint.

The Gloriette is unbelievably impressive and towers over the hill, it also has a little cafe inside too! The sight of it and the attention to detail on the statues, the arches and the writing that is on the building, and the general structure of it would be any architects dream for sure. It’s been there since 1755 and also displays trophies and Roman Empire armour and many other Roman trinkets.

*****

The Danube is the river that runs through Vienna, we walked along it when we were shopping in town and when we got the tube one day. We got off at the stop where it’d on the bridge over the danube, it was lovely and was a gorgeous day which made the view a whole lot better.

We sat on the steps down to the water when we walked along side it, It was warm and I took my shoes off wandering up and down the steps, some of the graffiti on the walls was funky too, some of it was so well done!

*****

One of the first places that Julia took Jake and I was Karlzplatz, where I accidentally got a photo of the car park and put it on my insta saying how gorgeous it was there when really it was majority car park, so yeah, reaaaaally gorgeous haha!

But the Opera House in Karlzplatz is one that Tom Cruise jumped off in one of the Mission Impossible films (Mission Impossible 5)! I was I’d had the chance to see the Opera so I guess it gives me a very good excuse to visit again! They also held the premier for the Mission Impossible 5 film at the opera house!

*****

One morning we decided to not let our hangovers defeat us and we went on a road trip to a lake and man made beach! When we got there we paid about €5 to get in, then when inside they had changing areas and toilets, a huge balcony seating area on the water and multiple beanbags and sun-beds to chill out on. Theres a field of grass behind all this and then if you carry on walking theres a man made beach with sand and all! We set up on the sand with our towels and got tanning.

It was really cool to chill out and tan our hangovers away, we also went for a swim in the lake and it was so fretting. Theres a restaurant / cafe also there were we got lunch and could look over the lake. It was a really pretty place and a perfect day with friends.

*****

We spent a day shopping in Vienna, I’ll never forget storming to the till in Zara and Julia not really giving Jake any choice on the matter in buying a €50 cardigan. I’ve never asked Jake if he wears it so Jake if you’re reading this let me and Julia know!

We walked through the streets of Vienna looking at all the fancy shops and restaurants, we walked past places like Gucci, Chanel and Marc Jacobs and it all looked so flawless. Of course there was H&M, Forever 21, all the just as brilliant and cheaper shops for the broke students like me! The shops that got me the most was the #Respect Your Ass shop where you could make your won customised pair of jeans, It was cool inside and out, I wish I’d got some.

There were also plenty of statues dotted about which were made of gold! We had the nice Ice cream whilst walking back as it was getting a bit cold, and what better log then to have Ice cream when you’re cold. It was SO NICE. I rate Ice cream and that stuff was gorgeous.

Whilst out shopping we came across St, Stephens Cathedral, I never realised how cool the roof of the cathedral was until I saw it myself. It’s all patterned with zig zags in different colours. It was something different, especially for a cathedral!

More architectural beauty for sure in the heart of Vienna!

Leave a Reply

